Scholar Bowl Wins 2021 Clinton County Tournament

General NewsScholar BowlComments Off on Scholar Bowl Wins 2021 Clinton County Tournament

For the second consecutive year, the Scholar Knights were crowned champions of the Clinton County Tournament on March 4, 2021!  With this year’s championship, Mater Dei leads the tournament’s 30-year history with 18 wins, followed by Central (7) and Wesclin (5).

In round one against Carlyle, Mater Dei built an early 210-30 halftime lead, and, despite a run by Carlyle in the second half, won 270-170.  Facing Central in round two, the Knights held a slim 120-90 advantage at halftime before pulling away to a 300-190 victory.  In the championship match against Wesclin, who was also undefeated in the tournament, Mater Dei amassed an impressive 230-20 lead after the first half, and, while Wesclin narrowed the gap, won the championship 320-120.

Cohen Wiegers led the Scholar Knights with a total of 17 toss ups, followed by Caleigh Arentsen (6), Dakota Driemeyer (4), Noah Toennies (3), and Matthew Wolden (1).  Callie Caylor and Michael Redman also contributed to the victories.

The Scholar Knights’ season then concluded on March 8 at the IHSA Class 1A Regional hosted at Mater Dei.  Following a first-round bye (resulting from their seeding), Mater Dei played Sesser-Valier in the semi-final round.  After building a 190-110 lead in the first half, the Knights continued their scoring pace in the second half and won 390-160.  In the championship round, Mater Dei faced defending champion Gibault. The Knights scored first, but Gibault built a sizeable 210-110 halftime lead and went on to win 390-220.

Cohen Wiegers led the Scholar Knights with a total of 12 toss ups, followed by Caleigh Arentsen (4), Dakota Driemeyer (4), Noah Toennies (1), and Michael Redman (1).  Alex Brandenburger, Callie Caylor, Max Morton, and Matthew Wolden also contributed during the regional matches.

We congratulate the Scholar Knights, as well as moderator Mr. Scott Timmermann, for their dedication and achievements throughout the season!

Pictured after winning the 2021 Clinton County Tournament are Scholar Bowl members (front, from left) Callie Caylor, Caleigh Arentsen, Cohen Wiegers; (back, from left) Dakota Driemeyer, Matthew Wolden, Noah Toennies, and Michael Redman.

Comments are closed.

  • by date

  • by category

  • By Tag