Category Archives: Student Council

2017-2018 Student Council Representatives

Congratulations to the Student Council representatives for the 2017-2018 school year!  We look forward to their leadership!

Class of 2020 Student Council representatives for the 2017-2018 school year: (front row, from left) Jaymee Rose, Lainey Kramer, Katie Toennies; (back row, from left) Halle Beckmann, Quinn Jansen, Caleb Zurliene, Nathan Rivera and Grace Rapp.

Class of 2019 Student Council representatives for the 2017-2018 school year: (front row, from left) Elyse Faust, Madeline Sullivan, Erika Plage; (back row, from left) Amy Boeckman, Brett Goetstenkors, Haley Palm and Carly Kampwerth.

Class of 2018 Student Council representatives for the 2017-2018 school year: (front row, from left) Sydney Richter, Abby Arentsen, Lauren Kampwerth, Malina Isaak; (back row, from left) Adam Seger, Riley Pollmann, Caroline Kenow and Robert Clancy. (Sophia Mondt was unavailable for the photo.)

Student Council Hosts Blood Drive

blood-drive-sophia-zachIn conjunction with the American Red Cross, the Student Council hosted a blood drive on October 31.  Donors consisted of community members, Mater Dei juniors and seniors, and faculty members.  Pictured (left) is Zach Honer with Student Council volunteer Sophia Lager; and (below) Mr. Gary Pollmann, with his daughter, Riley, who also donated.  From the 92 donors who presented to donate, 73 units were collected.Blood Drive - Pollmanns



STUCO Pledges to Campaign

Members of the Mater Dei Student Council voted to make a pledge of $3,000 for five years to the capital campaign, for a total of $15,000. STUCO president Lucas Foppe presents Mr. Litteken with the organization’s first pledge payment. Also representing Student Council are members (sitting) Eric Vandeloo, Bailey Kampwerth, Joseph Dulle, Connor Pollmann, Grace Chiarolanza, (middle) Kari Wiegmann, Jennifer Luebbers, Ariel Isaak, Madeline Lager, Clare Chiarolanza, Logan Kuhl, Jordan Becker, Katie Foppe, Julia Billhartz, Lauren Donnewald, Renee Rivera, (back) Holland Hempen, Emily Deeba, Shannon Mensing, Anna Lampe, Abby Niemeyer, Liz Sudholt, Maggie Fields, Olivia Theising, Rachel Harper, and Emily Peters. Moderators for the MD Student Council are Mrs. Gramann and Mrs. Chiarolanza.

STUCO Decorates for Spring

Student Council members decorated the halls and cafeteria in pastel colors for spring and Easter, including many strands of paper chains. Mater Dei students and staff members appreciate all the efforts that Student Council puts forth to make their school environment an inviting one.

Knights Give Generously

Mater Dei students and faculty continue to demonstrate generosity for those in need. Through the friendly competition between the classes, the Penny War, sponsored by Student Council, $332 was donated to the Leukemia and Lymphoma Society. In honor of Fr. Vince Haselhorst’s 80th birthday, through events sponsored by the Mater Dei chapter of the St. Vincent de Paul Society, MD students donated over 100 gently worn shoes and the funds needed to purchase a stove. These items will be donated to families in Guatemala. A “Dress Down for Babies” day, sponsored by the MD chapter of the Future Business Leaders of America (FBLA), $1,370 was donated to the March of Dimes.

MD Hosts Grade School Scholar Bowl Tourney

Two teams work out the answer to a question during the Grade School Scholar Bowl Tournament hosted by the MD Scholar Knights. Stephen Gramlich, ’09 and former Scholar Knight, reads the questions, current Scholar Knights Thomas Antonacci and Quinton Huelsmann keep the time and the score for the match.

The Mater Dei Scholar Bowl team and its moderator Mr. Scott Timmermann hosted its annual Grade School Scholar Bowl Tournament on February 4. Twenty-seven teams participated in the event from grade schools throughout Southern Illinois. Mater Dei Scholar Knights read questions, kept score, and assisted teams throughout the tournament. Members of the Mater Dei Student Council sold concessions for the tournament. The trophies were provided courtesy of Hardee’s.

Earning first place in the grade school tournament was St. Clare, second place was St. Rose, third place was Triad, and in fourth place was All Saints Academy. The consolation championship was won by Our Lady Queen of Peace.